in which I engage in self-promotion

A short story of mine (hard SF, would you believe?) that I had thought would be going up in September, is actually up this week at Strange Horizons. Read it! If any of you met me at readercon, I used an excerpt from this story for my “meet the prose” quote. The thing about Dante’s first ring and demons who have hox genes. My friend Kris really loves the part about the lip-creature. Now you have to be curious, right?

http://www.strangehorizons.com/2008/20080804/well-f.shtml

In other news, RWA was a very interesting and different experience from the average SF con. I really enjoyed it– especially the fancy dresses and free books. I went to the St. Martin’s Press party and it was swanky! Also, RWA is so much better organized and more useful than SFWA it’s sort of sad and pathetic. I think I’m going to join this week.

5 thoughts on “in which I engage in self-promotion

  1. J.S. Bangs says:

    I just read your story, and quickly made my way to your blog. It was truly beautiful, with a wonderful blend of spiritual and scientific themes. Thanks for putting it out there.

  2. Mariko says:

    I love it. A return to the forgotten science fiction of old where it was about existentialism and warnings and science instead of light sabers and explosions. Nicely done Alaya!

  3. carrie says:

    Hi. I read your story at SH yesterday and wanted to let you know how great it was. The descriptions of all the creatures from the doctor’s new planet kept my mind occupied for hours while I sat glued to the computer at work. I can’t wait to read your other stuff.

  4. Lisa says:

    I have to tell you, I LOVED your story on SH! Yours is probably in the top 3 of the 200 or so that I’ve read on that emag. My fave sci-fi genres relate to xenobiology and the search for the meaning of God, and you nailed both of those, so I am eagerly anticipating buying and reading both Racing the Dark and The Goblin King (I’m a big fan of choose-your-own-adventure also). Thank you so much!!

  5. Michael Tim says:

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Comments are closed.